Lucas Oil
(Courtesy photo)

MACON (Heartland Newsfeed) — The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is hitting the road again this weekend, making a return stop to Macon Speedway this Saturday night for a $12,000 top prize that the nation’s top drivers, as well as local and regional standouts, to challenge to earn a podium spot.

Racing on Macon Speedway’s 1/5 mile bullring dirt track has been known for some of the most thrilling door-to-door racing action all season long, but even moreso when the Series comes into town. Saturday’s event features the Miller Welders Time Trials, heat races and B-mains competitive action, main evented by the Series 100-lap race.

Defending national champion Jonathan Davenport is continuing to set the pace in the championship chase toward a second consecutive title, currently ahead of four-time national champion Earl Pearson Jr. Tyler Erb, Devin Moran and Josh Richards round out the top five in the championship standings.

The event marks the sixth time the Series has come to Macon Speedway, where Bobby Pierce has won three times (2014, 2016 and 2018) and Jimmy Owens (2015) and Josh Richards (2017) tallying up wins of their own.

Lucas Oil Championship Standings

149Jonathan DavenportBlairsville, GA2110
21Earl Pearson Jr.Jacksonville, FL1875-235
31TTyler ErbNew Waverly, TX1850-260
41MDevin MoranDresden, OH1730-380
514Josh RichardsShinnston, WV1670-440
639Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY1650-460
720Jimmy OwensNewport, TN1620-490
85Don O’NealMartinsville, IN1525-585
971Hudson O’NealMartinsville, IN1510-600
1040BKyle BronsonBrandon, FL1450-660 DIRTcar Modifieds

The Billingsley DIRTcar Modified Series will be in action Saturday night, following two nights of racing action, leaving the top position in a two-way tie between Rodney Standerfer of Summerfield and Tommy Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin.

Standerfer, a two-time series champion, was the opening night winner following setting a new standing track record, winning the heat race but was unable to secure the win the following night in the feature for a clean sweep, finishing second behind Sheppard.

Both racers are currently tied at 118 points apiece, while defending Pro Late Model champion Guy Taylor, Jared Thomas and Tim Hancock round out the top five in the series standings.

There will be a $1,000 top prize in this race with a starting payout of $100. DIRTcar Modifieds Standings

1T6Tommy Sheppard Jr.New Berlin118
228Rodney StanderferSummerfield118
377Guy TaylorSpringfield110-8
443Jared ThomasEdinburg104-14
50Tim HancockMt. Olive100-18
610Curt RhodesTaylorville92-26
714CAlan CrowderElwin90-28
843TJosh ThomasEdinburg84-34
911Zach RhodesTaylorville78-40
1019Carter SinkhornTaylorville74-44

Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modifieds

It has been all about former national class champion Tim Hancock in two weeks of racing action, winning both features despite close competition that has kept his honest so far this season.

Decatur driver Nick Justice is eight points behind, finishing close behind Hancock in both races. Chad Evans, Tim Riech and Brady Lynch round out the top five in the series standings.

Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modifieds Standings

10Tim HancockMt. Olive120
25Nick JusticeDecatur112-8
31XChad EvansMattoon96-24
455Tim RiechPetersburg94-26
514BBrady LynchHillsboro94-26
614NNathan LynchHillsboro90-30
7B21Billy NailDecatur86-34
866Roy MageeSpringfield84-36
9116Kevin RenchHillsboro80-40
1040Adam WebbDecatur78-42

Pit gates open this Saturday night at 3:00 with grandstand gates swinging open at 4:00.  Hot laps will begin at 6:00 with racing taking the green at 7:00 PM.  Grandstand admission is $30 for adults and $5 for kids 11 and under.

Jake Leonard is the editor-in-chief of Heartland Newsfeed and GM/program director of the Heartland Newsfeed Radio Network and Podcast Network. Leonard is also general manager of Heartland Internet Media Networks, an active contributor to four newspapers for Pana News Group and a contributing writer to My Sports Vote.

more recommended stories